top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Season Ticket

Football | Tough draw for Ireland in Euro 2024 qualifiers

The Republic of Ireland will face reigning world champions France, the Netherlands, Greece, and Gibraltar in their 2024 European Championship qualifying campaign.

Stephen Kenny's men have been handed a daunting list of fixtures in Group B following Sunday's draw in Frankfurt.

The Boys in Green, who were in Pot 3 of the draw, will travel to France to take on Didier Deschamps' men in their first qualifying match in September (full fixture details to follow).

The group's top two teams will qualify automatically for the 2024 tournament, with play-off places set to be determined by a combination of Nations League standings and the number of highly-ranked teams which have already qualified.

Elsewhere, European champions Italy have been drawn against England - who they beat in the 2020 final at Wembley - in Group C. Ukraine, North Macedonia and Malta complete the group.

In Group A, Spain will take on Scotland, Norway, Georgia and Cyprus.

Croatia, Wales, Armenia, Turkey and Latvia have been named in Group D, while Poland, Czech Republic, Albania and Faroe Islands will lock horns in Group E.

Group F consists of Belgium, Austria, Sweden, Azerbaijan and Estonia.

Hungary, Serbia, Montenegro, Bulgaria and Lithuania have been drawn in Group G.

Northern Ireland will compete with Denmark, Finland, Slovenia, Kazakhstan and San Marino in Group H, while Group I sees Israel, Romania, Kosovo, Belarus and Andorra face each other.

Finally, Portugal are joined by Bosnia and Herzegovina, Iceland, Luxembourg, Slovakia and Liechtenstein in Group J.

GROUP A Spain, Scotland, Norway, Georgia, Cyprus.

GROUP B Netherlands, France, Republic of Ireland, Greece, Gibraltar.

GROUP C Italy, England, Ukraine, North Macedonia, Malta.

GROUP D Croatia, Wales, Armenia, Turkey, Latvia.

GROUP E Poland, Czech Republic, Albania, Faroe islands, Moldova.

GROUP F Belgium, Austria, Sweden, Azerbaijan, Estonia.

GROUP G Hungary, Serbia, Montenegro, Bulgaria, Lithuania.

GROUP H Denmark, Finland, Slovenia, Kazakhstan, Northern Ireland, San Marino.

GROUP I Switzerland, Israel, Romania, Kosovo, Belarus, Andorra.

GROUP J Portugal, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Iceland, Luxembourg, Slovakia, Liechtenstein.

3 views0 comments
bottom of page