top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Season Ticket

Football | Byrne and Mandroiu scoop PFAI awards

Jack Byrne has been named as the 2019 PFAI Player of the Year.

The Shamrock Rovers midfielder has enjoyed a superb year after returning to Ireland, winning the FAI Cup with the Hoops and becoming a Republic of Ireland international.

Byrne, 23, has beaten Dundalk duo Sean Gannon and Michael Duffy to the award.

Mick McCarthy was in attendance at the Dublin gala to present Byrne with his award, and has confirmed that the playmaker will play a role in the Boys in Green's upcoming international friendly against New Zealand at the Aviva Stadium.

And the big one, the one you’ve been waiting for, your 2019 Player of the Year is ........ Jack Byrne! Congratulations Jack! #PFAIAwards — PFA Ireland (@PFAIOfficial) November 9, 2019

Byrne, however, has been beaten to the 2019 PFAI Young Player of the Yer award by Bohemian FC midfielder Danny Mandroiu.

The Ireland U21 international has seen off the competition of Byrne and Derry City's David Parkhouse to claim the award, which was presented by Mandroiu's international manager Stephen Kenny.

Dundalk manager Vinny Perth is the recipient of the 2019 Premier Division Manager of the Year after guiding the Lilywhites to a domestic double in his first season at the helm at Oriel Park.

Drogheda United boss Tim Clancy has won the 2019 First Division Manager of the Year award, with the Drogs falling just short in their recent relegation/promotion play-off against Finn Harps.

Cabinteely star Rob Manley has landed the 2019 First Division Player of the Year award.

Ends Stevens has been named as the Irish Overseas Player of the Year.

The left back has enjoyed a superb year, winning promotion to the Premier League with Sheffield United - and subsequently starting the top flight campaign superbly - and establishing himself as Ireland's first choice left back.

And the award for Irish Overseas Player of the Year goes to Enda Stevens of @SheffieldUnited #PFAIAwards — PFA Ireland (@PFAIOfficial) November 9, 2019

Denise O'Sullivan has won the Women's Senior International Player of the Year. The North Carolina Courage star was named as the club's MVP for the second season in a row, playing a starring role as Courage claimed back-to-back National Women’s Soccer League title in the United States.

Michelle O’Neill has picked up the Premier Division Referee of the year award, with Alan Patchell being recognized for his officiating in the First Division.

The Premier Division and First Division teams of the season - which can be found below - were named last month.

PFAI Premier Division Team of the Year:

Alan Mannus (Shamrock Rovers); Sean Gannon (Dundalk), Sean Hoare (Dundalk), Lee Grace (Shamrock Rovers), Sean Kavanagh (Shamrock Rovers); Danny Mandroiu (Bohemians), Chris Shields (Dundalk), Jack Byrne (Shamrock Rovers); David Parkhouse (Derry City), Patrick Hoban (Dundalk), Michael Duffy (Dundalk).

PFAI First Division Team of the Year:

Lee Steacy (Longford), Anthony Breslin (Longford), Luke Byrne (Shelbourne), Conor Kenna (Longford), Shane Elworthy (Longford), Ryan Brennan (Shelbourne), Sean Brennan (Drogheda), Dylan McGlade (Bray), Dean Byrne (Longford), Chris Lyons (Drogheda), Rob Manley (Cabinteely).

0 views0 comments
bottom of page