top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Season Ticket

Football | Euro 2020 draw revealed

The Republic of Ireland will face Poland, Spain and Sweden at Euro 2020 if they navigate the play-offs.

One of Ireland, Northern Ireland, Bosnia and Slovakia (i.e. the winners of the 'B' play-off path) will join the aforementioned nations in Group E at next summer's tournament.

If the Boys in Green qualify, they will play their opening two matches - against Poland (June 15th) and Sweden (June 19th) - at home, before taking on Spain in Bilbao (June 24th).

England have been drawn in Group D alongside Croatia, the Czech Republic and the winners of the 'C' play-off, which will be contested by Scotland, Serbia, Norway and Israel.

Portugal have been named in the 'group of death'.

The European champions have been placed in Group F with Germany, world champions France and the winners of the 'A' play-off, which features Iceland, Bulgaria, Hungary, and Romania.

Should England win Group D, they will face the runners-up of Group F, which could pit them against Portugal, France or Germany.

Wales, who memorably made the semi-finals at Euro 2016, join Italy, Turkey and Switzerland in Group A.

Denmark will clash with Belgium, Finland and Russia in Group B after finishing ahead of Ireland in the qualifiers.

The Netherlands, Ukraine and Austria have been named in Group C, which will be completed by the winners of the 'D' play-off (Georgia, Belarus, North Macedonia, Kosovo).

0 views0 comments
bottom of page