top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Season Ticket

Football | James Collins included in 29-man Ireland squad

Luton Town striker James Collins and Shamrock Rovers midfielder Jack Byrne have been included in the 29-man Republic of Ireland squad for November's internationals.

The Boys in Green face England in an international friendly on November 12th, before taking on Wales in Cardiff three days later and hosting Bulgaria at the Aviva Stadium on November 18th (both in the UEFA Nations League).

Collins, who has scored five goals this season for the Championship club, has been included following David McGoldrick's retirement this week.

Veteran Darren Randolph, Liverpool goalkeeper Caoimhín Kelleher and Bournemouth shot stopper Mark Travers are included as Stephen Kenny's goalkeeping options, while captain Seamus Coleman returns to the squad following injury.

Matt Doherty, Shane Duffy, John Egan, Enda Stevens, Kevin Long and Dara O'Shea are the other defenders named in the squad, while Shamrock Rovers star Byrne - who helped the Hoops end their Premier Division title drought last week - is named alongside midfielders Robbie Brady, Jayson Molumby, Conor Hourihane, Jeff Hendrick, Alan Browne and Jason McCarthy.

Collins, Adam Idah, Aaron Connolly, Callum Robinson, Callum O'Dowda, James McClean, Ronan Curtis and Daryl Horgan will provide the attacking options.

Goalkeepers: Darren Randolph (West Ham United), Caoimhín Kelleher (Liverpool), Mark Travers (AFC Bournemouth).

Defenders: Seamus Coleman (Everton), Matt Doherty (Tottenham Hotspur), Enda Stevens (Sheffield United), Kevin Long (Burnley), Shane Duffy (Celtic, on loan from Brighton and Hove Albion), John Egan (Sheffield United), Dara O’Shea (West Bromwich Albion).

Midfielders: Conor Hourihane (Aston Villa), James McCarthy (Crystal Palace), Harry Arter (Nottingham Forest), Jeff Hendrick (Newcastle United), Alan Browne (Preston North End), Jayson Molumby (Brighton and Hove Albion), Robbie Brady (Burnley), Jack Byrne (Shamrock Rovers).

Forwards: Callum Robinson (West Bromwich Albion), Callum O’Dowda (Bristol City), James McClean (Stoke City), Aaron Connolly (Brighton and Hove Albion), Adam Idah (Norwich City), James Collins (Luton Town), Ronan Curtis (Portsmouth), Daryl Horgan (Wycombe Wanderers).


The Season Ticket is now accepting donations. For the one-off cost of a coffee or pint, you can help us to expand our audience and content offering.

0 views0 comments
bottom of page