top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Season Ticket

Rugby | Ireland announce 31-man World Cup squad

Ireland have announced their 31-man squad for the 2019 Rugby World Cup.

Devin Toner is the most notable omission, with Joe Schmidt releasing the panel six days ahead of the original schedule.

Kieran Marmion and Jordi Murphy have also missed out on the final squad for the upcoming tournament in Japan.

Munster lock Jean Kleyn and Tadhg Beirne have been selected ahead of Toner, while Schmidt has opted to bring Conor Murray and Luke McGrath as his two scrum-half options.

Murphy's omission is Rhys Ruddock's gain, and Jack Carty has also been included following his eye-catching display in Cardiff, at the expense of competitor Ross Byrne.

Jack McGrath hasn't been included in the front row options, while Chris Farrell has also beaten Will Addison to a place in the squad.

Rory Best will captain the team as expected.

Overall, there are 14 Leinster players, 12 Munster players, three Ulster players and two Connacht players in the 31-man panel.

Johnny Sexton, Keith Earls, Cian Healy, Joey Carbery and Robbie Henshaw have been included despite their injury concerns.

Sexton, Earls, Carbery and Henshaw are joined in the backs by Rob Kearney, Jordan Larmour, Jacob Stockdale, Andrew Conway, Garry Ringrose, Chris Farrell, Bundee Aki, Conor Murray, Jack Carty and Luke McGrath.

Healy completes a list of forwards including captain Rory Best, Dave Kilcoyne, Josg van der Flier, Sean Cronin, Tadhg Furlong, Niall Scannell, Andrew Porter, John Ryan, James Ryan, Iain Henderson, Jean Kleyn, Jack Conan, Tadhg Beirne, Peter O'Mahony and Rhys Ruddock.

Ireland World Cup squad:


Rob Kearney (Leinster)

Jordan Larmour (Leinster)

Keith Earls (Munster)

Jacob Stockdale (Ulster)

Andrew Conway (Munster)

Chris Farrell (Munster)

Robbie Henshaw (Leinster)

Bundee Aki (Connacht)

Garry Ringrose (Leinster)

Jonathan Sexton (Leinster)

Joey Carbery (Munster)

Jack Carty (Connacht)

Conor Murray (Munster)

Luke McGrath (Leinster)


Cian Healy (Leinster)

Dave Kilcoyne (Munster)

Rory Best (Ulster, capt)

Niall Scannell (Munster)

Sean Cronin (Leinster)

Tadhg Furlong (Leinster)

Andrew Porter (Leinster)

John Ryan (Munster)

James Ryan (Leinster)

Iain Henderson (Ulster)

Jean Kleyn (Munster)

Tadhg Beirne (Munster)

CJ Stander (Munster)

Peter O'Mahony (Munster)

Josh van der Flier (Leinster)

Jack Conan (Leinster)

Rhys Ruddock (Leinster)

0 views0 comments
bottom of page