top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Season Ticket

Rugby | Ireland beat Australia to win Test series

Ouch 😳 #AUSvIRL — TEN Sport (@tensporttv) June 23, 2018 Foley split the posts with the resulting penalty, giving the hosts a 6-3 lead. Conor Murray missed a penalty shortly afterwards, but Sexton slotted another penalty on the half hour mark. Murray had a try ruled out by the TMO in the 33rd minute, but the play was called back for another penalty, which Sexton kicked over. Foley and Sexton exchanged penalties before the break, in a first half which was cagier than we've come to expect. Stander scored the first try of the game after bursting over the line from a rolling Irish maul. Sexton missed his conversion, but Ireland led 17-9. Koroibete scored a try of his own before the hour mark, showing good strength and pace to power over the line after a clever grubber kick from Foley. Australia pushed for the winner, but Sexton's late penalty sealed a brilliant win for Ireland. There was time for further drama after the Leinster star's kick, as the TMO ruled that there was no "clear and deliberate" knock-on from Jacob Stockdale as Australia attacked in the dying seconds. Peter O'Mahony collected the Lansdowne Cup after the game, as fireworks filled the sky behind him. "We'll be forensic on the back of the video and have a decent look," Schmidt told Sky Sports afterwards. "But I think a lot of it tonight was character... I think it's a credit to guys like Jordan Larmour, Jordi Murphy and Tadhg Beirne. To have to come off the bench into that furnace." Australia: I Folau (yc 30-40); D Haylett-Petty, S Kerevi, K Beale, M Koroibete (R Hodge 70); B Foley, N Phipps (J Powell 61); S Sio (T Robertson 62), B Paenga-Amosa (T Latu ht), S Kepu (T Tupou 55), I Rodda (N Hannigan 72), A Coleman (R Simmons 46), L Tui, D Pocock, M Hooper (capt)(P Samu 16) Ireland: R Kearney (J Larmour 57); K Earls, R Henshaw, B Aki, J Stockdale (yc 21-31); J Sexton, C Murray; J McGrath (C Healy 56), N Scannell (R Herring 55), T Furlong (J Ryan 67), D Toner, J Ryan, CJ Stander, J Conan (T Beirne 67), P O’Mahony (Capt) (J Murphy 31)
Ireland take the win 20-16, in a match that wasn't without its controversy #AUSvIRL — TEN Sport (@tensporttv) June 23, 2018 script async src="//">
1 view0 comments


bottom of page