top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Season Ticket

Rugby | Ireland draw South Africa in 2023 Rugby World Cup

Ireland have drawn in the same pool as world champions South Africa in the 2023 Rugby World Cup.

Andy Farrell's men have been named in Pool B alongside the Springboks and Scotland, with a team apiece from Asia Pacific and Europe 1 set to complete the group for the tournament in France.

Those remaining nations will be confirmed following the conclusion of the World Cup qualifiers.

Ireland are on the same side of the draw as New Zealand and France, making a quarter-final meeting with one of those nations extremely likely.

Ireland defeated Scotland in the pool stages of the 2018 tournament, but have never faced South Africa at a Rugby World Cup.

Hosts France have been matched with the All Blacks, Italy, an America 1 team and an Africa 1 team in Pool A.

Wales, Australia and Fiji will be joined in Pool C by a Europe 1 country and the winner of the final qualifier.

England, who lost the 2018 World Cup final to South Africa, will face Japan, Argentina, an Oceania 1 team and an Americas 2 nation in Pool D.

The tournament will kick off on September 8th and will run to October 21st, 2023.

Rugby World Cup 2023

Pool A: New Zealand, France, Italy, America 1, Africa 1

Pool B: South Africa, Ireland, Scotland, Asia Pacific, Europe 1

Pool C: Wales, Australia, Fiji ,Europe 1. Final Qualifier Winner

Pool D: England, Japan, Argentina, Oceania 1, Americas 2

Quarter Final 1: Winner Pool C v Runner-up Pool D

Quarter Final 2: Winner Pool B v Runner-up Pool A

Quarter Final 3: Winner Pool D v Runner-up Pool C

Quarter Final 4: Winner Pool A v Runner-up Pool B

Semi-Final 1: Winner QF1 v Qf3

Semi-Final 2: Winner Qf2 v QF4


The Season Ticket is now accepting donations. For the one-off cost of a coffee or pint, you can help us to expand our audience and content offering.

0 views0 comments
bottom of page