top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Season Ticket

Rugby | Leinster power past Scarlets to reach European final

FERG! 🙌#LEIvSCA #JoinTheRoar — Leinster Rugby (@leinsterrugby) April 21, 2018 There were 12 Grand Slam winners in the Leinster starting 15, and there were few signs of complacency in the second half. Jordan Larmour replaced the injured McFadden, and displayed his eye-catching footwork and pace on a number of occasions in front of the 48,445 strong crowd at the Aviva. Man of the match Scott Fardy got the try his performance merited in the 49th minute, showing his power to squirm over the line under intense pressure from three Scarlets defenders. Robbie Henshaw was also excellent on his return from injury, making 11 tackles and gaining 22 metres for the hosts. Sexton then became Ireland’s fifth different try scorer on the hour mark, jinking over the line from close distance before scoring his fifth conversion to make it 38-9. The 32 year old's try takes his Champions Cup tally to over 600 points, and he was replaced by Joey Carbery for the closing stages. Tadhg Beirne, who will link up with Munster next season, scored Scarlets' first and only try in the 79th minute, but it was too little too late from the Welsh club. The final whistle drew huge cheers from inside the Aviva, as minds turn towards Bilbao. “A lot of hard work went into that," Leo Cullen said afterwards. "Players, coaches, back room team, the staff...and then the supporters played a massive part again today. "A very special occasion.” Over to you Munster. Leinster: Rob Kearney; Fergus McFadden, Garry Ringrose, Robbie Henshaw, Isa Nacewa; Johnny Sexton, Jamison Gibson-Park; Cian Healy, Seán Cronin, Tadhg Furlong; Devin Toner, James Ryan; Scott Fardy, Dan Leavy, Jordi Murphy. Replacements: James Tracy, Jack McGrath, Andrew Porter, Ross Molony, Jack Conan, Nick McCarthy, Joey Carbery, Jordan Larmour. Scarlets: Rhys Patchell; Leigh Halfpenny, Scott Williams, Hadleigh Parkes, Steff Evans; Dan Jones, Gareth Davies; Rob Evans, Ken Owens; Samson Lee, Tadhg Beirne, David Bulbring; Aaron Shingler, James Davies, John Barclay. Replacements: Ryan Elias, Dylan Evans, Werner Kruger, Lewis Rawlins, Steve Cummins, Aled Davies, Steff Hughes, Will Boyde.
0 views0 comments
bottom of page