top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Season Ticket

Rugby | Six uncapped players in Ireland's Six Nations squad

Andy Farrell has named six uncapped players in his 35-man squad for Ireland's remaining 2020 Guinness Six Nations fixtures.

Jamison Gibson Park, Ryan Baird, Will Connors, Ed Byrne, Shane Daly and Hugo Keenan have been included in the panel for the matches against Italy in Dublin and France in Paris.

It is the first time New Zealand native Gibson Park has been named in the Ireland squad, with the Leinster star becoming Irish-qualified last year based on World Rugby's three-year residency rules.

Tadhg Furlong and Keith Earls miss out through injury, while John Cooney's loss of form has seen the Ulster player omitted from the squad entirely.

John Ryan has been recalled to the squad in place of the injured Furlong, while Jack Conan and Tadhg Beirne are also back from injury.

Johnny Sexton will captain the team for the remaining matches, and Conor Murray has been included despite struggling with a thigh injury.

"There has been a huge effort right across Irish rugby to ensure that the professional game could return safely and that work is greatly appreciated by the national management," Farrell said.

"We have protocols in place to safeguard the welfare of the players and staff and are looking forward to completing the Six Nations Championships.

"We have two competitions to play in over the coming months but will focus first on a strong finish to the Six Nations.

Ireland were fourth in the table when the tournament was suspended due to the coronavirus pandemic, four points off France and England, who have both played a game more than Farrell's men.

Ireland beat Scotland and Wales, but suffered defeat to England in their opening three Six Nations matches.

Ireland squad:


Bundee Aki (Connacht/Galwegians) Ross Byrne (Leinster/UCD) Jack Carty (Connacht/Buccaneers) Andrew Conway (Munster/Garryowen) Shane Daly (Munster/Cork Con) Chris Farrell (Munster/Young Munster) Jamison Gibson Park (Leinster) Robbie Henshaw (Leinster/Buccaneers) Hugo Keenan (Leinster/UCD) Jordan Larmour (Leinster/St Mary’s College) Kieran Marmion (Connacht/Corinthians) Stuart McCloskey (Ulster/Bangor) Conor Murray (Munster/Garryowen) Garry Ringrose (Leinster/UCD) Jonathan Sexton (Leinster/St Mary’s College) Jacob Stockdale (Ulster/Lurgan)


Ryan Baird (Leinster/Dublin University) Finlay Bealham (Connacht/Corinthians) Tadhg Beirne (Munster/Lansdowne) Ed Byrne (Leinster/UCD) Will Connors (Leinster/UCD) Jack Conan (Leinster/Old Belvedere) Caelan Doris (Leinster/UCD) Cian Healy (Leinster/Clontarf) Dave Heffernan (Connacht/Buccaneers) Iain Henderson (Ulster/Academy) Rob Herring (Ulster/Ballynahinch) Ronan Kelleher (Leinster/Lansdowne) Peter O’Mahony (Munster/Cork Constitution) Andrew Porter (Leinster/UCD) Quinn Roux (Connacht/Galwegians) James Ryan (Leinster/UCD) John Ryan (Munster/Cork Constitution) CJ Stander (Munster/Shannon) Josh van der Flier (Leinster/UCD


The Season Ticket is now accepting donations. For the one-off cost of a coffee or pint, you can help us to expand our audience and content offering.

0 views0 comments
bottom of page