top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Season Ticket

GAA | Callanan named as 2019 Hurler of the Year

Séamus Callanan being chosen as the 2019 Hurler of the Year.

The Tipperary captain, who played a starring as the Premier County won the All-Ireland under Liam Sheedy, has won the hurling award for the first time.

Callanan, who won his fourth All-Star at the awards at the Convention Centre, is the first Tipperary player since Lar Corbett in 2010 to win the award, beating Kilkenny's TJ Reid and Cork's Patrick Horgan.

Amazingly, Tipp's number 14 scored a goal in every Championship game, ending the season as the Championship’s top scorer from play with 8-17.

31-year-old Callanan was one of seven Tipp players in the All-Star hurling team of the year, but the only forward from the Munster county to make the cut.

Séamus Callanan is the @PwCIreland GAA/GPA Hurler of the Year for 2019! It has been a phenomenal year for the @TipperaryGAA captain as they claimed the Liam MacCarthy Cup! GAANOW caught up with him here at the #PwCAllStars — The GAA (@officialgaa) November 1, 2019

Tipp 'keeper Brian Hogan was named in the team for the first time, emulating his father Ken.

Defenders Ronan, Padraic and Brendan Maher were included alongside Cathal Barrett, while midfielder Noel McGrath was also selected.

Kilkenny trio Padraig Walsh, TJ Reid and Colin Fennelly represent the beaten All-Ireland finalists.

Wexford duo Diarmuid O’Keeffe and Lee Chin were joined in the team by Limerick pair Sean Finn and Aaron Gillane, with Cork’s Patrick Horgan completing the lineup.

Kilkenny's Adrian Mullen won the Young Hurler of the Year award, having already claimed the AIB Club Hurler of the Year title.

Cats star Mullen, who also won an All-Ireland club title with Ballyhale Shamrocks this year, beat Limerick’s Kyle Hayes and Wexford's Rory O’Connor to the award.

Switching to football, Dublin captain Stephen Cluxton was named as the Footballer of the Year.

Interestingly, it’s the first time that both of the victorious captains have won the awards in the same year.

2019 All-Star hurling team:

1. Brian Hogan

2. Sean Finn

3. Ronan Maher

4. Cathal Barrett

5. Brendan Maher

6. Pádraig Walsh

7. Pádraic Maher

8. Noel McGrath

9. Diarmuid O'Keefe

10. Lee Chin

11. TJ Reid

12. Colin Fennelly

13. Aaron Gillane

14. Séamus Callanan

15. Patrick Horgan

0 views0 comments
bottom of page