top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Season Ticket

GAA | Cluxton named Footballer of the Year as Dubs dominate All-Stars

Stephen Cluxton is the @PwCIreland GAA/GPA Footballer of the Year for 2019! It has been an unforgettable year for the @DubGAAOfficial captain and goalkeeper as the boys in blue claimed the Sam Maguire Cup for a fifth time in-a-row! GAANOW spoke with him at the #PwCAllStars — The GAA (@officialgaa) November 1, 2019 Beaten All-Ireland finalists Kerry had four players included in the team, with om O'Sullivan, David Moran, Sean O'Shea and David Clifford getting the nod. Tyrone duo Ronan McNamee and Cathal McShane were also included, with Donegal's Michael Murphy and Mayo's Paddy Durcan completing the team. Kerry's Sean O'Shea was named as the Young Footballer of the Year, beating David Clifford and Armagh’s Rian O’Neill to the award. The young forward enjoyed an exceptional campaign for the Kingdom, and finished as the top scorer in Division One this year as Kerry reached the final. O'Shea produced a wonderful performance in the first All-Ireland final draw against Dublin, scoring 0-10, and was one of Kerry's key players throughout the Championship. In hurling, Tipperary captain Seamus Callanan was named as the Hurler of the Year. Interestingly, it’s the first time that both of the victorious captains have won the awards in the same year. 2019 All-Star football team: 1. Stephen Cluxton (Dublin) 2. Michael Fitzsimons (Dublin) 3. Ronan McNamee (Tyrone) 4. Tom O’Sullivan (Kerry) 5. Patrick Durcan (Mayo) 6. Brian Howard (Dublin) 7. Jack McCaffrey (Dublin) 8. Brian Fenton (Dublin) 9. David Moran (Kerry) 10 Paul Mannion (Dublin) 11. Sean O Shea (Kerry) 12. Michael Murphy (Donegal) 13. David Clifford (Kerry) 14. Cathal McShane (Tyrone) 15. Con O’Callaghan (Dublin)
0 views0 comments
bottom of page