top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Season Ticket

GAA | Dominant DCU defeat IT Carlow to win fifth Sigerson Cup

Some more scenes as @DCUGAAAcademy celebrate their #SigersonCup final victory this evening. We would also like to thank hundreds of supporters who came out this evening! #DCU40 #DCUAbú — DCU (@DublinCityUni) January 29, 2020 In a repeat of the first half, Comerford jogged forward to score a free early in the second half. Bannigan added his second point of the match soon afterwards, with Farrell kicking a free at the other end a minute later. Farrell added another free for IT Carlow, but points from play from Small and Garland kept the advantage with DCU. Comerford's third free of the game - this one against the breeze - made it 0-10 to 0-04 to DCU after 42 minutes. Farrell converted two more frees for Critchley's men, who lost Richard Hitchcock to a black card in the 51st minute. Garland added to DCU's tally with a free, with Small plundering his second points a minute later as the Glasnevin college made their numerical advantage count. IT Carlow's Niall Hughes was then sent to the sin bin, reducing the visitors to 13 men for the closing stages. Bannigan scored another free for DCU before Sean Bugler fisted over his first point of the final. Farrell had time to add one more free for IT Carlow, taking his tally to six points, but it wasn't enough to stop a dominant DCU team. Captain McCole lifted the Sigerson Cup after the final whistle, ending the college's five-year wait for the trophy.
.@DCUGAAAcademy are the @HigherEdGAA @ElectricIreland are they #SigersonCup Champions for 2020! Here is their captain Brendan McCole lifting the Sigerson Cup! #DCUAbú #DCU40 — DCU (@DublinCityUni) January 29, 2020
0 views0 comments
bottom of page