top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Season Ticket

GAA | Dublin and Kerry to share Division 1 title

Dublin and Kerry have been confirmed as 2021 Allianz League Division 1 co-champions.

All-Ireland champions Dublin defeated Donegal by 1-18 to 1-14 in their Breffni Park semi-final, hours after Kerry put Tyrone to the sword in a comprehensive 6-16 to 1-13 win at Fitzgerald Stadium.

Old foes Dublin and Kerry will now have to settle for shared custody of the 2021 Division 1 trophy, with the Kingdom unable to compete in a final due to their Munster championship commitments.

Kerry 6-16 Tyrone 1-13

Kerry produced five first half goals in their demolition of the Red Hand, with David Clifford, Gavin White, Dara Moynihan and Paul Geaney (two) all finding the net for Peter Keane's men.

The Kingdom led by 5-6 to 0-7 at half time.

Tiernan McCann scored Tyrone's only goal in the 42nd minute, before Jack Barry scored Kerry's sixth later in the second half.

Next up for Clare is a Munster quarter-final against Clare, while Tyrone will have to improve massively for their upcoming Ulster clash against provincial champions Cavan.

Kerry: Kieran Fitzgibbon, Brian O Beaglaoich, Jason Foley 0-01, Tom O’Sullivan, Mike Breen 0-01, Gavin Crowley, Gavin White 1-00, Diarmuid O’Connor, Adrian Spillane, Stephen O’Brien, Sean O’Shea 0-03, Paul Geaney 2-00, David Clifford 1-06 (1-00 pen, 0-04f), Dara Moynihan 1-00, Paudie Clifford.

Subs: Joe O’Connor for P Clifford (35+3, blood), P Clifford for J O’Connor (blood reversal ht), Tommy Walsh for P Clifford (43), Micheal Burns 0-02 for P Geaney (43), Killian Spillane 0-02 for S O’Brien (50), Jack Barry 1-00 for S O’Shea (54), Joe O’Connor for D Moynihan (60), Jack Sherwood for G White (60), Paul O’Shea for A Spillane (63), Graham O’Sullivan for M Breen (73)

Tyrone: Niall Morgan, Cormac Monroe, Ronan McNamee, Padraig Hampsey, Michael McKernan, Peter Harte 0-01, Liam Rafferty, Matthew Donnelly 0-01, Frank Burns, Kieran McGeary 0-03, Darragh Canavan, Conor Meyler, Darren McCurry 0-03 (0-01f) , Conor McKenna, Paul Donaghy 0-01 (0-01f).

Subs: Mark Bradley 0-01 for D Canavan (inj, 6), Tiernan McCann 1-00 for C Monroe (26), Ronan O’Neill 0-01 for P Donaghy (ht), Richie Donnelly 0-01 for F Burns (ht), Rory Brennan 0-01 for M McKernan (46), Niall Sludden 0-01 for L Rafferty (46), Colin Kilpatrick for R McNamee (69).

Dublin 1-18 Donegal 1-14

Dublin led by 1-8 to 0-7 at the interval in Cavan, with Paddy Small finding the back of the net in the 28th minute after taking the ball past Donegal goalkeeper Shaun Patton.

The Dubs then made a strong start to the second half, scoring three successive points courtesy of Sean McMahon, Brian Fenton and Ciaran Kilkenny.

Paddy McBrearty kept Donegal in the game, chipping in with six points for the Ulster county, but Dessie Farrell's Dublin rarely looked in danger of surrendering their lead.

Donegal substitute Eoghan McGettigan produced a goal in the dying minutes, but it wasn't enough to earn a result for Declan Bonner's men. 

Donegal: Shaun Patton; Eoin McHugh, Stephen McMenamin, Brendan McCole (0-01); Ryan McHugh, Odhrán McFadden Ferry, Ethan O'Donnell; Caolan McGonagle (0-02), Hugh McFadden; Ciaran Thompson, Odhrán Mac Niallais (0-01), Niall O'Donnell (0-01); Patrick McBrearty (0-06, 0-01m, 0-02fs), Michael Langan (0-02), Oisin Gallen.

Subs: Conor O'Donnell for Mac Niallais (29); Caolan Ward for McMenamin (ht); Eoghan McGettigan (1-01) for Gallen (53), Eunan Doherty for McFadden Ferry (53); Dáire Ó Baoill for N O'Donnell (56), Jason McGee for H McFadden (56), Tony McClenaghan for E McHugh (63).

Dublin: Evan Comerford; Michael Fitzsimons, David Byrne, Sean McMahon (0-01); Eoin Murchan, Brian Howard (0-01), James McCarthy; Brian Fenton (0-01), Peadar O Cofaigh Byrne; Colm Basquel, Ciaran Kilkenny (0-02), Niall Scully; Paddy Small (1-03, 0-01m), Con O'Callaghan (0-03), Cormac Costello (0-06,0-05fs, 0-01’45’).

Subs: Eric Lowndes for Murchan (ht); Sean Bugler for Basquel (49); Tom Lahiff for O Cofaigh Byrne (53), Aaron Byrne (0-01) for Scully (53); Philip McMahon for Fitzsimons (61), Conor McHugh for Kilkenny (61); Shane Carthy for P Small (67).

More to follow...

0 views0 comments
bottom of page