top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Season Ticket

GAA | Dublin win fourth successive All-Ireland title

Half-time in Croke Park and it's @DubGAAOfficial 2-07@TyroneGAALive 0-06Check out the first half highlights here on #GAANOW! — The GAA (@officialgaa) September 2, 2018 McAliskey and Kieran McGeary grabbed the first two scores of the second half for Tyrone, but Dublin hit back through Brian Fenton and Brian Howard. Substitute Lee Brennan reduced the deficit with a free before Mark Bradley scored a fine point. McGeary was then shown a black card for blocking off Brian Fenton, before the excellent Mannion and McShane traded points. Fenton and Rock added to the Dubs' tally, before the two counties swapped points once again. Philly McMahon fouled Colm Cavanagh - who struggled to produce his best form - in the square in the 67th minute, and Peter Harte found the bottom corner with a brilliant penalty.
Peter Harte scores the penalty for Tyrone! — The GAA (@officialgaa) September 2, 2018 There were seven minute of additional time, and Tyrone gathered fleeting momentum after Small's dismissal for a second yellow. Super sub Kevin McManamon cancelled out another Brennan free, before Mattie Donelly swung over an excellent point from distance. Ciaran Kilkenny then clipped over a point before Michael Daragh MacAuley scored the last point of the game. The result never looked in doubt after Scully's 28th minute goal, and Jim Gavin and his players will now have their eyes on an historic five-in-a-row. Stephen Cluxton lifted the Sam Maguire Cup yet again, and is one of a new group of players (Bernard Brogan, Philly McMahon, Cian O’Sullivan, James McCarthy, Michael Darragh Macauley, Kevin McManamon, Michael Fitzsimons, Paul Flynn, and Eoghan O’Gara) to become the first Dublin players in history to win six All-Ireland medals.
Dublin are All-Ireland Senior Football Champions for the fourth year in a row!Captain Stephen Cluxton lifts the Sam Maguire! — The GAA (@officialgaa) September 2, 2018 In the minor final, Kerry produced an excellent second half comeback to win their fifth consecutive title. The Kingdom are the first male team in GAA history (at any grade) to achieve the feat, and ran out as 0-21 to 1-14 winners over Galway in the decider.
0 views0 comments
bottom of page