top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Season Ticket

GAA | Galway and Roscommon relegated to Division 2

Jack McCarron has scored a 94th-minute winning point to rescue Monaghan from relegation and condemn Galway to Division 2 in Sunday's Division 1 relegation play-off.

McCarron, who scored seven points in total, notched the winning point from 35 yards as Monaghan prevailed by 1-21 to 2-17 after extra time in a thrilling match in Clones.

Monaghan made a bright start at St Tiernach's Park, but Galway led by 2-6 to 0-9 at half time after first half goals from Paul Kelly and Robert Finnerty.

Galway led for most of the second half, carrying a five-point advantage into the closing stages, but Monaghan battled back.

Dessie Ward scored back-to-back points before Niall Kearns set up Darren Hughes to score Monaghan's only goal of the game, drawing the Farney County level.

Matthew Tierney scored a 45 to edge the Tribesmen back in front, but Conor McManus' last-gasp point from range sent the game to extra time, with the scores locked at 1-16 to 2-13 at the end of normal time.

Padraig Joyce's Galway led by a point (2-16 to 1-18) at half time in extra time, but McCarron's crucial late score saved Monaghan at the death.

Monaghan: Rory Beggan (0-01, 0-01 45); Dessie Ward (0-03), Karl McMenamin, Ryan Wylie; Kieran Duffy (0-01), Conor Boyle, Karl O'Connell (0-01); Niall Kearns, Killian Lavelle; Michael Bannigan, Conor McCarthy, Ryan McAnespie (0-02); Stephen O'Hanlon, Andrew Woods, Conor McManus (0-04, 0-02f).

Subs: Jack McCarron (0-07, 2 frees) for Woods (11), Darren Hughes (1-01) for Bannigan (h/t), Fintan Kelly for O'Connell (47), Aaron Mulligan for Lavelle (51), Gary Mohan for O'Hanlon & Shane Hanratty for Wylie (65). Shane Carey (0-01) for McCarthy, Barry McBennett for Kearns & Bannigan for McMenamin (all e/t), O'Connell for Boyle (83), McCarthy for Mohan (86), Wylie for Duffy (89).

Galway: Connor Gleeson; Sean Kelly, Jack Glynn, Sean Mulkerrin; Kieran Molloy (0-01), Dylan McHugh, Liam Silke; Paul Conroy, Matthew Tierney (0-02, 0-01 45, 0-01m); Eamonn Brannigan (0-01), Peter Cooke, Finnian O Laoi; Robert Finnerty (1-03, 0-01m), Shane Walsh (0-07, 0-06f), Paul Kelly (1-01).

Subs: Johnny Heaney for Brannigan (32), Johnny Duane (0-01) for Glynn (h/t), Cathal Sweeney (0-01) for Molloy & Dessie Conneely for Kelly (51), Gary O'Donnell for O Laoi (63), Tomo Culhane for Finnerty & Maitias O Bairead for Walsh (68). Walsh for Culhane & Finnerty for Heaney (e/t), Molloy for Silke (83), Culhane for Finnerty & O Laoi for Cooke (88).

Roscommon will join their Connacht rivals Galway in Division 2 next year after suffering a 1-17 to 0-11 defeat to Armagh in Division 1's other relegation play-off.

The Rossies flew out of the traps at the Athletic Grounds, storming into a 0-5 to 0-1 lead against their Ulster opponents.

Armagh settled and fought back with Oisin O'Neill plundering a goal and Jemar Hall fisting the ball over the bar to give them a 1-7 to 0-7 lead at the break.

Hall, O'Neill, Rory Grugan, Stefan Campbell and Niall Grimley added points for the dominant Orchard County in the second half, with Armagh eventually running out as comfortable nine-point winners.

Armagh: Blaine Hughes, Ross Finn, Aidan Forker, Greg McCabe (0-01), Connaire Mackin, Aaron McKay, Ciaron O’Hanlon, Niall Grimley (0-01), Andrew Murnin (0-02), Jemar Hall (0-03), Rian O’Neill (0-5, 2f), Tiernan Kelly, Rory Grugan (0-03, 2f), Oisín O’Neill (0-01), Stefan Campbell (0-01).

Subs: Jarly Og Burns for Kelly (41), Conor Turbitt for Murnin (41), Conor O’Neill for Hall (48), Ryan Kennedy for Forker (57), Brendan Donaghy for Ciaron O’Hanlon (65).

Roscommon: Colm Lavin, David Murray, Conor Daly, Brian Stack, Ronan Daly, Conor Hussey, Richard Hughes, Enda Smith, Tadgh O’Rourke, Niall Kilroy, Ciarán Murtagh (0-03, 2f), Shane Killoran, Diarmuid Murtagh (0-03, 1f), Donie Smith, Conor Cox (0-04, 2f).

Subs: Niall Daly (0-01) for Hughes (31), Fergal Lennon for R Daly (ht), Eddie Nolan for E Smith (ht), Conor Devaney for Killoran (43), Cathal Cregg for Kilroy (43), Cian McKeon for D Murtagh (54), Ciaran Lennon for D Smith (54).

0 views0 comments
bottom of page