top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Season Ticket

GAA | Mayo relegated from Division 1

Mayo have been relegated from Division 1 of the Allianz Football League for the first time in 23 years.

The Connacht county will play their football in Division 2 next year after falling to a 3-14 to 1-19 defeat to Tyrone at Elverys MacHale Park.

Former AFL star Conor McKenna plundered two goals for Tyrone and set up another for Darragh Canavan for another, with the Red Hand needing only a draw to guarantee their safety in the top tier.

Mayo, who were without Cillian O'Connor, trailed Tyrone by 2-09 to 0-07 at half time.

Tommy Conroy, who finished the game with 1-3, found the net in the second half to spark a glimmer of hope for James Horan's hosts. Having trailed by nine points, Mayo fought hard in the final quarter, pushing the Red Hand all the way.

Conor Meyler was shown a black card with 10 minutes remaining, forcing Tyrone to see out the rest of the match with 14 men.

However, two late points from Darren McCurry and McKenna were enough to get the Ulster county over the line.

Next up for Mayo is a Connacht clash against Leitrim, who also suffered relegation back to Division 4 after suffering a home defeat to Tipperary.

Tyrone will now turn their attention to next weekend's Ulster Championship meeting with Donegal.

Elsewhere, Dublin beat Galway by 2-16 to 0-19 in Salthill, and Monaghan (2-14) and Meath (1-17) drew in Clones.

Yeserday, Kerry defeated Donegal by 2-18 to 0-10 at Austin Stack Park to win the Division 1 title.

Roscommon also claimed the Division 2 title, and the Connacht county will be joined in Division 1 by Armagh next year, who also won promotion.

Scorers for Mayo: Tommy Conroy (1-3), Darren Coen (0-5, 3f), James Durcan (0-3, 3f), Diarmuid O’Connor (0-2, 1f) Ryan O’Donoghue (0-2. 1m), Patrick Durcan (0-1), Matthew Ruane (0-1), Conor Loftus (0-1), Eoghan McLaughlin (0-1),

Scorers for Tyrone: Conor McKenna (2-2, 1f), Darragh Cananvan (1-1), Darren McCurry (0-4, 3f), Peter Harte (0-3), Matthew Donnelly (0-2), Kevin McGeary (0-1), Michael McKernan (0-1, 1m)


The Season Ticket is now accepting donations. For the one-off cost of a coffee or pint, you can help us to expand our audience and content offering.

0 views0 comments
bottom of page