top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Season Ticket

League of Ireland | Cork and Rovers progress in Europe, Derry City bow out

Cork City 4-2 Levadia Tallinn League leaders Cork welcomed Levadia Tallin to Turners Cross after picking up a 2-0 win in Estonia last week. but fell behind in the 15th minute when Evgeni Kobzar put the visitors ahead. It was a thrilling first half, and Karl Sheppard's header drew the Leesiders after 28 minutes, but Nikita Andreev restored Levadia's lead just five minutes later in front of the 6,314 strong crowd. Sean Maguire's clever back heel a minute after half time eased the growing tension inside the ground, and the Airtricity League's deadliest striker added two more - a close range finish and a header from a corner - to hand the Irish side a 4-2 victory (6-2 on aggregate). Maguire will be a huge loss to Cork and the league, but his performance tonight further showcased why Preston came calling to take him to the Championship. His third was his sixth European goal in Cork City colours, a new club record. Cork will now face AEK Larnaca in the next round. Cork City: M McNulty; J Keohane, C McCormack, R Delaney, K O’Connor; G Morrissey, G Bolger (A Campion 85); K Sheppard (S Beattie 68), G Buckley, S Dooley (S Griffin 78); S Maguire. Levadia Tallinn: S Lempets; I Dudarev, A Artjunin, M Podholjuzin, A Gando; J Krznarić, M Roosnupp; N Andreev, J Morelli, E Kobzar (P Marin 60); R Hunt.

Shamrock Rovers 1-0 Stjarnan Shamrock Rovers carried a 1-0 advantage into tonight's clash with Stjarnan at the Tallaght Stadium thanks to an away goal by Gary Shaw last week, and Graham Burke scored a close range tap in to give the Hoops the lead after 20 minutes against the Icelandic side. The Dublin side threatened throughout, and weren't content to sit and protect their first leg advantage. They left themselves exposed at times, but Michael O'Connor almost doubled ROvers' lead late on, but was well denied by the Stjarnan 'keeper, and Rovers boss Stephen Bradley will be glad to have kept a clean sheet in each leg. Shamrock Rovers: Tomer Chencinski, Simon Madden, David Webster, Roberto Lopes, Luke Byrne, Ryan Connolly (Aaron Bolger 87), Ronan Finn, Graham Burke (David McAllister 78), Trevor Clarke, Brandon Miele, Gary Shaw (Michael O’Connor 69) Stjarnan: Haraldur Bjornsson, Ottar Bjarni Gudmundsson, Josef Josefsson, Daniel Laxdal, Johann Laxdal, Holmbert Fridjonsson (Máni Hilmarsson 94), Hilmar Arni Halldorsson, Alex Hauksson (Olafur Karl Finsen 49), Eyjolfur Hedinsson, Baldur Sigurdsson (Heidar Aegisson 78), Gudjon Baldvinsson

Derry City 1-4 FC Midtjylland Czech side Mlada Boleslav await them in the next round. Derry City, however, suffered a 4-1 defeat at home to Danish side FC Midtjylland. Paul Onuachu bagged a hat-trick for the visitors, with his first goal coming in the seventh minute. He scored again in the 38th minute, but Aaron McEneff pulled one back for the Candystripes four minutes before the break, calmly finishing through Hansen's legs. Gustav Wikheim restored the visitors' two goal advantage on 59 minutes, and Onuachu completed his hat-trick 10 minutes later to hand Midtjylland a 10-2 aggregate victory. It was a difficult draw for Derry, and their Danish opposition simply proved far too strong over 180 minutes. Derry City: G Doherty, Monaghan, Whiteside (Todd 71), Jarvis, B Doherty; Schubert, McEneff, Low, Holden (Timlin 76), Curtis; Boyle (Patterson 62) Midtjylland: J Hansen, Romer (Nissen 70), Riis (K Hansen HT), Korcsmar, Dal Hende; Sparv; Drachmann, Poulsen; Kroon (Wikheim 58), Onuachu, Hassan

0 views0 comments
bottom of page